Uniqueness is a quality we often pride and are taught to cherish about ourselves..a positive trait so to say. Yet in my recent pursuit of Oneness that binds us, I ponder about how rather than us being unique and distinct, we are uniquely a part of the whole.

While we often are compared to mere drops in the vast expanse of the world, Rumi puts it wondrously in perspective  ‘You are not a drop in the ocean. You are the entire ocean in a drop.’

But my most favourite insight on being unique and valued comes from my ever favourite book, The Little Prince, in a conversation between the Prince and the fox.

I am looking for friends. What does that mean — tame?”

“It is an act too often neglected,” said the fox. “It means to establish ties.”

“To establish ties?”

“Just that,” said the fox. “To me, you are still nothing more than a little boy who is just like a hundred thousand other little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. To you I am nothing more than a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world….”

After the prince tames him, the fox tells him to go again to see the roses in the garden, and  this time, he tells these roses: 

“To be sure, an ordinary passerby would think that my rose looked just like you….But in herself alone she is more important than all the hundreds of you other roses: because it is she that I have watered;…because it is she that I have listened to when she grumbled, or boasted, or even sometimes when she said nothing. Because she is my rose.

To which the fox says, “It’s the time you spent on your rose that makes your rose so important…People have forgotten this truth, but you mustn’t forget it. You become responsible forever for what you’ve tamed. You’re responsible for your unique rose.”

 

 

